Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Open letter from Dominique

Building the Quebec of Tomorrow

Open letter from Dominique

After a year of hardships, spring has finally sprung! The COVID-19 pandemic struck Quebec at its very heart. Close to 11,000 Quebecers have died and all Quebecers have been affected in one way or another. Many suffered from solitude or isolation, lost their job or had to watch their business falter or even close.


The crisis is not over yet, but our focus is slowing starting to turn to the post-pandemic world. What will our post-COVID-19 economy look like? What changes will we want to make to our ways of living, working and our consumer habits? Will we go back to the status quo and to “business as usual”, or will we seize the opportunity to make the changes we need for building the Quebec of tomorrow?

These are some of the fundamental choices for Quebec politics in the coming years.

Some might be tempted to start things back up as though nothing had happened. To promise economic development based solely on the race to maximum profitability. To focus on the short term and reduce the value of each item to its mere cost. Affirm that we are concerned by social vulnerability and environmental depreciation, sure, but without the courage to actually change the economic rules of engagement.
Thankfully, a new economic vision is emerging both here and elsewhere. The evolution began prior to the pandemic, but has since accelerated. For many, the crisis provided clarity about the need to offer a new social contract that benefits everyone. Of providing ourselves with a State that is effective, transparent and agile. To set out for a society that is fair to people, equitable for our regions, and sustainable when it comes to the environment. That will require reversing the economic and political trends of the past four decades. Let’s be audacious and idealistic, but realistic as well, and choose an economy that is worthy of the 21st century.

A Simple Idea

A very simple idea is behind this modern vision: economic activity must be at the service of humans and the planet, not the reverse. Progress cannot be reduced to its accounting dimensions alone. We must immediately begin to reflect and act within a wider framework, one that considers economic, social and environmental progress as indissociable. Our economic rules need to serve Quebec society as a whole: our ideals, our prosperity, our regions, our language, our ecosystems and our families. Our workers and our businesses all have a vested interest in starting to prepare for the economy of tomorrow.


This change to the economic rules of engagement will yield a number of advantages. A Quebec Liberal Party government will abandon the rule of the lowest bidder and will add criteria for quality, origin, as well as social and environmental impacts in its calls for tender. Public investments will follow the same logic. We will use new indicators for progress that will compensate for the GDP’s blind spots. We’ll require new types of mission-based companies, new labelling standards, and disclosures about social and ecological impacts. This will require an exemplary State, whose methods, rules and taxation encourage a modern vision of public interest.


This new vision also rests on a novel partnership with the private sector, which is also being called upon to contribute in this transformation. It is not for the government to micromanage businesses or to asphyxiate them with invasive taxation or regulations, but rather to play a proactive role in aligning economic incentives that fall within the kind of society we want to live in.

Solid Foundations

Our ambitions are lofty, but Quebec can build on its solid foundations. We are an innovative, resilient people. The social and cooperative economy has been engrained in us for over one hundred years. We have the intelligence, the resources and the courage to undertake this exciting and necessary shift. And if we believe the hundreds of thousands of people, young and old alike, who took part in the climate march in September of 2019, Quebecers are eagerly waiting for this change to happen.

In 1960, our parents and grandparents yearned for openness and modernity and elected Jean Lesage’s Liberal Party, which led Quebec to fully become a part of the 20th century. Sixty years later, it’s time to rediscover that momentum so that we can build the Quebec of the 21st century.

Dominique Anglade

Leader of the Quebec Liberal Party

Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Lettre ouverte de Dominique

Bâtir le Québec de demain

Lettre ouverte de Dominique Anglade

Au terme d’une année très éprouvante, le printemps arrive enfin. La pandémie de COVID-19 a atteint le Québec en plein cœur. Près de 11 000 Québécois sont décédés, et tous les Québécois ont été touchés de près ou de loin. Plusieurs ont souffert de solitude et d’isolement, perdu leur emploi, vu leur entreprise vaciller ou même fermer.

La crise n’est pas terminée, mais l’attention se tourne peu à peu vers le monde d’après. À quoi ressemblera notre économie après la COVID-19? Quels changements voudrons-nous apporter à nos façons de vivre, de travailler et de consommer ? Reviendrons-nous au statu quo et au « business as usual », ou saisirons-nous cette occasion pour entreprendre les virages nécessaires pour bâtir le Québec de demain ?

Ce sont là les choix fondamentaux de la politique québécoise des prochaines années.

Certains seront tentés de repartir la machine exactement comme avant et comme si rien ne s’était passé. De promettre un développement économique fondé uniquement sur la course à la rentabilité maximale. De miser sur le court terme et de réduire la valeur de toute chose à son prix. De se dire préoccupés par la précarité sociale et la dégradation environnementale, bien sûr, mais sans avoir le courage de changer réellement les règles du jeu de l’économie.  

Heureusement, une nouvelle vision économique émerge, ici comme ailleurs. L’évolution a commencé avant la pandémie, mais elle s’est accélérée depuis. Pour plusieurs, la crise a clarifié la nécessité d’offrir un nouveau contrat social qui bénéficie à toutes et à tous. De se doter d’un État efficace, transparent et agile. De mettre le cap sur une société juste pour les personnes, équitable pour nos régions, et durable pour l’environnement. Cela demandera de renverser la tendance économique et politique des quatre dernières décennies. Faisons preuve d’audace et d’idéalisme – de réalisme, aussi – et choisissons une économie digne du 21e siècle.

Une idée simple

À la base de cette vision moderne se trouve une idée toute simple : l’activité économique doit être au service des humains et de la planète, et non l’inverse. Le progrès ne peut plus se réduire à ses seules dimensions comptables. Nous devons, dès maintenant, réfléchir et agir dans un cadre plus large, qui considère le progrès économique, le progrès social et le progrès environnemental comme indissociables. Nos règles économiques doivent servir la société québécoise dans son ensemble : nos idéaux, notre prospérité, nos régions, notre langue, nos écosystèmes, nos familles. Nos travailleuses, nos travailleurs et nos entreprises ont tout intérêt à se préparer, dès aujourd’hui, à l’économie de demain.

 

Ce changement des règles du jeu économique aura plusieurs bénéfices. Le gouvernement doit abandonner la règle du plus bas soumissionnaire et ajouter des critères de qualité, de provenance et d’impacts sociaux et environnementaux dans ses appels d’offres. Les investissements publics suivront la même logique. Nous utiliserons de nouveaux indicateurs de progrès pour pallier les angles morts du PIB. Il nous faudra de nouvelles formes d’entreprises à mission, de nouvelles normes d’étiquetage et de divulgation en matière d’impacts sociaux et écologiques. Il faudra repenser nos accords commerciaux pour promouvoir des échanges équitables et durables. Et il faudra un État exemplaire, dont les façons de faire, les règles et la fiscalité favorisent une vision moderne de l’intérêt public.

Cette nouvelle vision repose également sur un nouveau partenariat avec le secteur privé, appelé lui aussi à contribuer à cette transformation. Il ne s’agit pas pour le gouvernement de microgérer les entreprises, ou de les asphyxier par une fiscalité ou une réglementation envahissante, mais de jouer un rôle proactif pour aligner les incitations économiques dans le sens de la société dans laquelle nous voulons vivre.

Des fondations solides

Les ambitions sont grandes, mais le Québec peut bâtir sur des fondations solides. Nous formons un peuple innovant et résilient. L’économie sociale et coopérative est déjà implantée chez nous depuis plus de cent ans. Nous avons le génie, les ressources, le courage pour entreprendre ce virage nécessaire et emballant. Et si l’on en croit les centaines de milliers de personnes – jeunes et moins jeunes – qui ont marché dans nos rues pour le climat en septembre 2019, les Québécois attendent ce virage.

En 1960, nos parents et nos grands-parents, qui rêvaient d’ouverture et de modernité, ont élu le Parti libéral de Jean Lesage, celui qui a fait entrer le Québec de plain-pied dans le 20e siècle. Soixante ans plus tard, alors que de nouveaux défis et de nouveaux idéaux nous mobilisent, il est temps de retrouver cet élan pour bâtir le Québec du 21e siècle.

Dominique Anglade

Cheffe du Parti libéral du Québec