Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Proposal No 1

A new way of measuring progress

In Quebec, we frequently measure our progress or the benefits of our policies by referring to the Gross Domestic Product, the “GDP”. It is a measure of economic activity based on the total market value of all goods and services. When the GDP is growing, an economy is considered to be healthy. When it is decreasing, there is cause for concern.

The GDP is an indicator of economic activity that does not take other societal factors into account.

 

But can we really limit a society’s progress to economic statistics? In 2021, we think that the answer is no.

Over the years, several more comprehensive indicators have been suggested as an alternative to the GDP. Among those is of particular interest, the Genuine Progress Indicator (GPI). In addition to economic statistics, this indicator includes social and environmental progress. It has 26 components in all.

We believe that it is time to expand our definition of progress. That is why we propose establishing a new indicator of Quebec’s socioeconomic progress, inspired by the GPI.

Developed, calculated and published on an annual basis by the , for each of the regions, as well as for the province as a whole. It will offer a more accurate and realistic measurement of Quebec society’s evolution and the impact of our projects and public policies.

Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Proposition No 1

Une nouvelle façon de mesurer notre progrès

Au Québec, nous mesurons fréquemment notre progrès ou les bénéfices de nos politiques en nous référant au produit intérieur brut, le « PIB ». Il s’agit d’une mesure de l’activité économique fondée sur la valeur marchande totale de tous les biens et services. Lorsque le PIB croît, on considère que l’économie va bien. Lorsqu’il diminue, on s’inquiète.

Le PIB est un indicateur de l’activité économique qui ne tient pas compte des autres enjeux de notre société.

 

Mais peut-on réellement limiter le progrès d’une société à des statistiques économiques ? En 2021, nous croyons que non.

Au fil des ans, plusieurs indicateurs plus complets ont été proposés comme alternatives au PIB. Parmi ces indicateurs, un est particulièrement intéressant, soit le Genuine Progress Indicator (GPI). Cet indicateur de progrès inclut, en plus des statistiques économiques, des mesures de progrès social et environnemental. Il comprend en tout 26 composantes.

Nous croyons qu’il est temps d’élargir notre conception du progrès. C’est pourquoi nous proposons de mettre en place un nouvel indicateur de progrès socioéconomique pour le Québec, inspiré du GPI.

Élaboré, calculé et publié annuellement par l’Institut de la statistique du Québec, pour chacune des régions et pour l’ensemble de la province, il permettrait d’offrir une mesure plus juste et plus réaliste de l’évolution de la société québécoise, et de l’impact de nos projets et de nos politiques publiques.