Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Proposal No 2

Quality and social environment impact criteria in government calls for tender

In order to truly change the rules of the game to benefit Quebecers, the government must demonstrate exemplarity. This leadership is necessary to incentivize and accompany the population and economic stakeholders in the shift toward a modern economy that focuses on exemplary social and environmental practices. The government possesses incredible leverage to promote the modernization of businesses: public contracts.

The Conseil du Trésor annually awards approximately $16B in contracts. They are usually awarded based on the lowest compliant bidder rule, a rule which reduces the purchasing process to a simple accounting calculation.

Yet, the government could use its contracting power to force the shift.

 

That is why propose that the public calls for tender also include criteria for quality, origin, impacts on the environment and social impacts.

shutterstock_1701167791.jpg

We think that factors such as respect for laws and regulations, a commitment to regional development, the transformation toward green technology, the presence of buying local polices, respect for fundamental rights, promoting work-family balance and the presence of women and minorities could be among them as well.  

Dominique_Anglade.png

A Quebec Liberal Party government will take these types of action which will create incredible leverage to promote businesses’ modernization and their adaptation to the economy of tomorrow.

Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Proposition No 2

Des critères de qualité et d’impacts sociaux et environnementaux dans les appels d’offres du gouvernement

Pour être en mesure de véritablement changer les règles du jeu au bénéfice des Québécoises et Québécois, le gouvernement doit faire preuve d’exemplarité. Ce leadership est nécessaire pour inciter et accompagner la population et les acteurs économiques dans le virage vers une économie moderne misant sur des pratiques sociales et environnementales exemplaires. Le gouvernement dispose d’un levier incroyable pour favoriser la modernisation des entreprises : les contrats publics.

Le Conseil du Trésor octroie environ 16 milliards $ de contrats annuellement. Ceux-ci sont généralement octroyés en fonction de la règle du plus bas soumissionnaire conforme, une règle qui réduit le processus d’achat à un simple calcul comptable.

 

Or, le gouvernement pourrait se servir de son pouvoir contractuel pour forcer le virage.

 

C’est pourquoi nous proposons que les appels d’offres publics incluent aussi des critères de qualité, de provenance, d’impacts sur l’environnement et d’impacts sociaux.

shutterstock_1701167791.jpg

Nous pensons que des éléments tels que le respect des lois et réglementations, un engagement envers le développement régional, la transformation vers des technologies vertes, la présence de politiques d’achat local, le respect des droits fondamentaux, la promotion de la conciliation travail-famille et la présence des femmes et des minorités, pourraient y figurer aussi.

Dominique_Anglade.png

Un gouvernement du Parti libéral du Québec agira ainsi comme un levier incroyable pour favoriser la modernisation des entreprises et leur adaptation à l’économie de demain.