Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Proposal No 4

The creation of a new type of business: mission-based companies

Mission-based companies, often referred to as “benefit corporations”, began to appear in the United States in 2010. This new type of company sets itself apart from traditional companies by focusing on social and environmental progress in addition to financial profitability.

Thirty-seven American States, including California, New York, Texas and Delaware, have formally recognized these companies in their laws. In June of 2020, British Columbia was the first Canadian province to create a legal status for these Canadian companies.

usa.png
119054096_2789976544571933_4444119141890

A Quebec Liberal Party government will create a legal status for mission-based companies in Quebec.

After that, we will also commit to promoting the development of those companies, including through tax incentives and access to public markets by giving them automatic access to an accelerated qualification.

In the long run, the creation and promotion of mission-based companies will accelerate Quebec’s economic transition toward a more equitable and sustainable economy, in addition to encouraging business retention and start-ups by a new generation.

Logo-Vision-economique-PLQ.png

Proposition No 4

La création d’un nouveau type d’entreprise : les entreprises à mission

Les entreprises à mission, souvent appelées « Benefit Corporations », ont vu le jour aux États-Unis en 2010. Cette nouvelle forme d’entreprises se distingue des entreprises traditionnelles en visant, en plus de la rentabilité financière, le progrès social et environnemental.

37 États américains, incluant la Californie, New York, le Texas et le Delaware, ont reconnu formellement ces entreprises dans leurs lois. En juin 2020, la Colombie-Britannique a été la première province canadienne à créer un statut juridique pour ces entreprises au Canada.

usa.png
119054096_2789976544571933_4444119141890

Un gouvernement du Parti libéral du Québec va créer un statut juridique pour les entreprises à mission au Québec.

Par la suite, nous nous engageons également à favoriser le développement de ces entreprises, notamment par des incitatifs fiscaux et l’accès aux marchés publics, en leur donnant automatiquement accès à une qualification accélérée.

La création et la promotion d’entreprises à mission permettront, à terme, d’accélérer la transition de l’économie du Québec vers une économie plus équitable et durable en plus de favoriser la rétention et le démarrage d’entreprises par une nouvelle génération.